How Do I Dissolve (or Close) My LLC?

Once you've decided it is time to dissolve (or close down) your LLC, there are several important steps to take. The first step is for the members (or owners) to officially agree to close the business. This is typically done by a vote, the method you have chosen and outlined in your Operating Agreement, or what is laid out in your state's Limited Liability Company statutes. Next, in order to formally dissolve your LLC with the state, you will want to make sure your LLC is in "good standing." This means you don't have any outstanding fees and you have filed all of your annual reports on time (if required by your state). In addition, some states will require you to obtain a tax clearance from your state's revenue department stating that you have no tax liability. Once these initial steps are taken, you are ready to file the dissolution documents with the Secretary of State (or Corporations Divion). The table below outlines the name of the dissolution document, the method for filing, and the state's filing fee. It is recommended to keep all of your dissolution paperwork on file for six to seven years. Please note that it is always a good idea to check with your tax accountant or corporate attorney to ensure you have taken all the necessary steps in your state so that your LLC has been properly dissolved.

StateLLC Dissolution Details
Alabama

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: Each Judge of Probate's Office has a county-specific fee. In addition, the Secretary of State charges a $100 fee.

Alaska

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $25

Arizona

Form:Articles of Termination

Filing Method:Paper form, via mail (Needs a Cover Sheet)

Fee:$35

Arkansas

Form:Articles of Dissolution for Limited Liability Company

Filing Method:Online or paper form via mail

Fee:$22.50 Online fee; $25 Paper fee

California

Form:Amendment to Articles of Organization of a Limited Liability Company

Filing Method:Paper form, via mail

Fee:$50

Colorado

Form: Statement of Dissolution

Filing Method: Online only

Fee: $10

Connecticut

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $50

Delaware

Form: Certificate of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $200

District of Columbia

Form: Statement of Dissolution

Filing Method: Online; Paper form, via mail

Fee: $220

Florida

Form: Articles of Amendment to Articles of Organization

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail; Online

Fee: $25 Paper and Online Fee

Georgia

Form:Certificate of Termination

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail; Online (must create and account)

Fee: No fee

Hawaii

Form: Articles of Termination

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $25

Idaho

Form: Statement of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: No fee if form is typed; $20 fee if form is hand-written

Illinois

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $100

Indiana

Form: Articles of Dissolution of a Limited Liability Company

Filing Method: Paper, via mail

Fee: $30

Iowa

Form: Statement of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper, via mail; fax

Fee: $10

Kansas

Form: Certificate of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $35

Kentucky

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $40

Louisiana

Form: Affidavit to Dissolve Limited Liability Company

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail; Online

Fee: $100

Maine

Form: Certificate of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $75

Maryland

Form: Articles of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $100

Massachusetts

Form: Certificate of Cancellation

Filing Method: Online only

Fee: $109

Michigan

Form: Certificate of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form via mail

Fee: $10

Minnesota

Form: Notice of Dissolution

Filing Method: Online (must create account); Paper form, via mail

Fee: $55 Online fee; $35 Paper fee

Mississippi

Form: Certificate of Dissolution

Filing Method: Online only (must create account)

Fee: $50

Missouri

Form: Articles of Termination for Limited Liability Company

Filing Method: Online (must create account); Paper form, via mail

Fee: $26.25 Online fee; $25 Paper fee

Montana

Form: Articles of Termination

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $15

Nebraska

Form: Statement of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $15

Nevada

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $100

New Hampshire

Form: Certificate of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $35

New Jersey

Form: Certificate of Dissolution

Filing Method: Online; Paper form, via mail

Fee: $125 Online and Paper Fee

New Mexico

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $25

New York

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $60

North Carolina

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $30

North Dakota

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $20

Ohio

Form: Certificate of Dissolution

Filing Method: Online; Paper form, via mail

Fee: $50 Online and Paper Fee

Oklahoma

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $50

Oregon

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $100

Pennsylvania

Form: Certificate of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $70

Rhode Island

Form: Letter of Good Standing/Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $50

South Carolina

Form: Amended Articles of Termination

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $10

South Dakota

Form: Articles of Termination

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $10

Tennessee

Form: Notice of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $20

Texas

Form: Certificate of Termination, along with a Certificate of Account Status (from the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts)

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $40

Utah

Form: Statement of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: No fee

Vermont

Form: Articles of Termination

Filing Method: Online; Paper form, via mail

Fee: $20 Online and Paper Fee

Virginia

Form: Articles of Cancellation

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $25

Washington

Form: Certificate of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: No fee

West Virginia

Form: Articles of Termination

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $25

Wisconsin

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $20

Wyoming

Form: Articles of Dissolution

Filing Method: Paper form, via mail

Fee: $50